The Hunt

the-hunt

Job hunting has become my new job! I have learned some tips and tricks in the past two months and wanted to share them with you all.

  1. Take Some Time

Whether you are freshly unemployed or considering leaving a position, take this time to relax. The job hunting process can be stressful and difficult, and in my case LONG. Self health and management is so important during your job hunt process. Go to the gym, hang out with friends, or even watch that new series on Netflix you’ve been dying to watch. It is important to still have a life because sitting at home, looking for a job is going to kill you!

2.   Work on your Resume

This is what recruiters and employers are going to be looking at. If you are well into your career, just staring out or looking to transition to something different you want to be sure this represents the best of you. For a while I was hesitant to purchase a professional resume template, but once I did I was so happy. I got mine from Landed Design Studio. Liisa, the mastermind behind LDS, is super helpful and all of her designs are beautiful and really easy to use. She also provides tips and tricks for you to use when editing your resume and making it shine!

3.  LinkedIn

If you do not already have a LinkedIn account go get one! It is easy to set up and makes job hunting easier as well. I have had my account for a couple of years but didn’t get any real action on it until recently when I did a major overhaul to changed how everything looked. I also am currently trying the free trial of the Premium account as a job seeker. It’s only been a few days but it has helped me get a better idea as to where I stand amongst other job seekers.

4.  Leave your House

Yes, leave you house to go see friends of course, but also leave your house of your comfort zone to job hunt. Go to a networking event or a hiring event to make new connections. Send an email or Inmail (on LinkedIn) to someone you admire or someone that has a job you want. You never know what you will get from stepping out of your personal box. I have decided that I want to be an educator and one of the first things I did after that was reach out to a friend that teaches and someone at a school near me. They provided me with so many ideas and suggestions.

5.  Take a Step Back

I have found myself feverishly staring at my computer and phone for the past two months and have realized, before it was too late, that I need to take a step back every once and a while throughout the process. Take a few days off and do not think about job hunting. Allow yourself to focus on other aspects of your life. Find an activity like the ones mentioned above to help yourself grow. This stage is in your life should be about self growth. As you move to, hopefully, a more fulfilling job you should also be growing as a more in touch person.

These are just a few things I have learned over the past few months. Job hunting is hard so grab your computer, pen, paper and a big cup of tea and get going but make sure to take care of your self during the process.

I also have a few hiring events that I will be attending for those looking to work in a school either as educators or administrators. Check out the calendar for details on those. Lastly, if you have any job hunting tips or tricks send them over!

-B

Leave a Reply

