Healthy Living

Being healthier seems to be everyone’s New Years resolution! Most don’t make it to February and the gyms get less crowded and stores stop marketing a healthier lifestyle. To make it past the first few months of the year you need to understand diets and lazy workouts aren’t going to work. It’s an entire lifestyle change. You need to be ready to change your entire life!

Loosing weight and being health is not just about going to the gym. You have to eat well too! When I started working out and eating well I wasn’t sure what I should do. I gravitated to Pinterest to help me with what I should and shouldn’t be eating. Over the past few months I have come up with a great plan  to help me with weight loss.

SO here is what a typical day of food looks like for me as well as other tools I use to help me develop and maintain a healthy lifestyle.

Breakfast

img_4706I used to hate breakfast. Something about eating that early in the day just makes me sick. I do, however, love smoothies! So I started using Herbalife to turn my fruit shakes into a complete meal in the morning. For this particular smoothie I used 8 ounces of vanilla coconut milk, 1/2 cup of frozen mangoes, 3 slices of frozen img_4737peaches, and 2 scoops of the piña colada Herbalife Healthy Meal. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day its important to start out strong! This is super easy to make and take on the go so there is no excuse to having a full breakfast. I also pair mine with a cup of green tea!

Lunch
img_4845

I am trying to lower my carb intake as I lose weight ( I will increase it when I am ready to start building more muscle) so for lunch I try to limit my carbs so that I can have more for breakfast or dinner. Zoodles are great! If you aren’t familiar with them check here for some great recipes. This meal is rice cake pizzas! I crave pizza all the time. This is a great healthier alternative. Just put what ever toppings you’d like and microwave or place in the oven to warm up! Just make sure that for lunch you are eating plenty of protein and veggies!

Dinner

img_4701For dinner I try to focus on transforming veggies. Raw vegetables are great but for dinner I crave a bit more flavor. These spicy carrots are my new favorite! As someone who LOVES french fries, I want to find a way to get a similar feel. To make these I cut carrot into fry like strips (4-5 Carrots will fill a sheet tray) and place them into a ziplock bag. I add olive oil and what ever spices I want. Let them sit while you prepare your protein or for 10 mins. Put all of your carrots on the tray, but do not pour them from the bag. There will be to many juices and you won’t get crispy carrot fries. Place them in the oven at 375 for 15 mins, turn them and then put them back for another 15 mins. These are so good and my younger sisters loved them too.

Tools

There are some apps that I use to help me keep up with my fitness

Lifesum: I have a premium account because I love how easy this app is to use. You can take an easy quiz based on your fitness goals and it pairs you up with the best plan for you. Adding each meal is super easy and you can save the meals you eat for easy repeat entry. You can even sync it with other health apps you might already have such as your fit bit or apple watch. I try to use it every day especially when I am trying a new recipe or starting a new meal plan so that I can learn what is best for me. Also the app itself is free!

Apple Watch: Now, I will never tell you to go out and buy an Apple Watch because they are not cheap, but since I got mine in December it has been really helpful in working towards a healthier lifestyle. The Activity and Workout portions of the watch are what I use most. It calculates your calories burned based on actual activity and not the calories we burn simply from being humans. This, in comparison to my Fitbit, helps me see how much effort I put in each day to being active.

Pinterest: I feel that I use Pinterest for everything in life. It is the best place to go for ideas for anything you need. When it comes to fitness and health I love to use it to find new workouts for leg day or a recipe for whatever I might have left in my fridge. It has even been updated to help you find similar posts in an instant! I’ve linked my fitness Pinterest board in case you need somewhere to start!

Being healthy can be hard when you crave gummy bears on a daily basis, but you can do it! Hopefully this look into what I am currently doing will help you with your own goals!

I am still working on my goals so if you have any suggestions for me, please send them over. Happy gym day!

-B


*It should go without saying, I am not being sponsored or paid by any of these companies. Everything was purchased myself and they are actual items and tools I use everyday!*
One thought on “Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

